Degree Programs


Howard University offers the following NAAB-accredited degree:

Bachelor of Architecture - professional degree program that requires five years of study and is fully accredited by the National Architecture Accreditation Board. The degree meets the educational requirements for professional registration. The professional Bachelor of Architecture was last visited in March 2012 and was re-accredited for the full six year term. The next accreditation review visit for the architecture program: 2018.

The School is a member of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.

Lists of all Architecture course descriptions are available on separate pages.

Academic policies on Admissions, Design Studio Requirements and Graduation Requirements can be seen here.

The Next Accreditation Review Visit for the Architecture Program: 2018

The primary aim is to stress the importance of design as a method of inquiry and resolution. Students are taught to solve architectural problems through the exploration of original and promising architectural expressions and ideas.

The Department believes that architecture and design is essentially a rigorous act of creativity, research and scholarship and encourages a pluralistic intellectual environment in which diverse ideas can be investigated and tested.

The studio provides an ongoing forum for discourse at all levels of the curriculum. The studio focuses curriculum activities including issues of social and human behavior and concern, response to the physical environment, ethical responsibility for ecologically sustainable design and the cultural context in which architecture is developed.


Architecture Graduates Elevated to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects

Wed, April, 12 2017

We are pleased to announce that two graduates of the Howard University Department of Architecture, Kwendeche (B.Arch. 1976) and Kathy Dixon (B.Arch. 1991), have been elevated to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA). This is an unparalleled honor and the highest individual recognition bestowed by the Institute. The selection process is rigorous. Approximately three percent of the more than 90,000 AIA members have this distinction. The recipients of the FAIA are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the profession either through design, architectural education or the advancement of the profession after 10 years of AIA membership. The 2017 FAIA class consists of 178 people.Read More >>

Highlights from the Fall 2016 Semester:

Tue, January, 3 2017

The Department of Architecture kicked-off the 2016-2017 academic year with a myriad of events that brought faculty, students, and alumni together. In addition to welcoming, its new chair, the Department hosted a number of activities including a lecture by Dr. Douglas Williams about David Williston, the first known black landscape architecture who was also instrumental in the early Howard campus, in July. Read More >>


No Events